trouble.

“god will never give you more than you can handle.”

what a popular phrase. its been said to me. i don’t think i have to say what i think about it, but i will.

its stupid.

i’ve heard it so many times in my life that i actually started to believe that it was in the bible. but i was recently reminded of the commonly misquoted verse that i memorized as a kid. 1 corinthians 10:13 says, “no temptation has seized you except what is common to man. but god is faithful, he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. but when you are tempted he will provide a way out so that you can stand up under it.”

this verse says nothing about god not giving us more than we can handle. on the contrary, i believe that god absolutely does give us more than we can handle.

its been a rough few weeks. my family has been faced with some tough decisions involving my rapidly aging grandparents. without my dad’s support and guidance, its been really hard, to say the least. and i wonder, “when will it end?” the trials and losses of the last few years are simply too much to bear. way too much. i’m not an overemotional person. i usually handle stress well. but lately there are some days when i can’t help but fall to a heap on the floor and cry.

life is too hard sometimes. it isn’t fair. some people know the extent of this way more than i do. and it makes me ask questions. why is god allowing this all to happen? isn’t enough enough? why won’t he step in and change this? can’t god take a trial from me and give it to someone who has none? some people place blame on those with questions. they say things like, “god’s timing is perfect” or “god will never give you more than you can handle.” but those people are wrong. my faith in god is strong. but i question it. and that’s definitely not a bad thing.

enduring hard times makes you wonder how you will ever move on. but god’s love is the answer. he has allowed all of these bad things to happen not because he wanted them to or because he chose this path for me. this is the broken world’s way of trying to turn me from the truth. but god has the power to lift me up and carry me through the circumstance. he has and he will.

so, its not that god has given me just enough trouble without tipping the scales. the reality is that so much trouble has come my way that i have no choice but to take him up on his invitation for help. i am weak. i can’t handle much on my own. but i have christ on my side. he’s offering me his load and its a hell of a lot lighter than mine.

“come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and i will give you rest. take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for i am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. for my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

Leave a Reply

